Rewording and clarifications

61 posts / 0 new
Last post
HMK
HMK's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 day 7 hours ago
Joined: 16/06/2016 - 12:00
Points: 0

Alright, cool. Well, that certainly needs clearing up since it litterary says "a profile card can only have one enhancment card attached" right now. ;) And like i said, some cards, at least some for the savage wave, still refers to stackable.

Sora9785
Offline
Last seen: 20 hours 38 min ago
Joined: 10/09/2018 - 22:02
Points: 0

After playing another game of Risen Sun (my cult vs temple), here are my thoughts:

-Akarin is way too weak; either remove weak or give him a 0 weapon. Both is too hard on a 20+ rive model

-Ikyrios Look into the Void: should be once per turn, especially with shrine desceration from yugio

-Yugios shrine desecreation; if you put out more than one shrine, does the effects stack or not (should it even be possible to put out more than one shrine??)

-We couldnt find what would happen, if a model doesnt have a weapon (puppet from Kato). We played it like always with half damage

-Some Events (especially "Feed on Fear") are way WAY too strong for their cost. Maybe give it a 3 cost. And what about the immaculate mask? Can I get a Armoured Karai for 1 rice? (and with Katos "Captured Soul" ability should an Armoured Kairai be legal?)

Troll
Offline
Last seen: 9 hours 36 min ago
Joined: 24/07/2017 - 11:38
Points: 0

Just a few questions.

Do the effects of multiple disturbed flow and believer auras stack?

If you buy an upgrade that effects multiple models on the same card do subsequent summons of the same type gain the benefit of the upgrade?

How is Ume's ice Mountain fist attack meant to work? At what point in the melee exchange do you announce the use of this feat? Is there a point to removing a dice and replacing it with one of the same value?

Similar problem with master Akari's ability.

Sgnappa
Offline
Last seen: 2 hours 19 min ago
Joined: 27/11/2017 - 15:55
Points: 0

Some doubts question about Movement (maybe I miss the same things in New Dawn).

 

 

Now you can measure every distance but not with tournament rules.

If I declare a charge against an enemey, I can measure so be sure to get him in B2B. What if I have a Ki Boost or a Ki feat that boost my movement in some way (+Mov or Light Footed, for example)?

 

If I measure before I move, I know exactly if I have to use ki boost or feat to reach my enemy. So I measure, i declare a Charge… and someway I change idea. Maybe it’s the last activation, I decide to not reach my enemy, so I move full distance and lose my activation counters as well.

 

What if I cannot measure before movement? I Declare the charge Action, I measure and discover that my model won’t reach the enemy, can I use a Ki Boost/Feat in this time to increase my movement enough to reach him?

 

 

Next, about an enemy that has the Fear trait.

I pre-measure, declare a charge, but I realize that failing fear test would be a disaster. So I don’t boost my movement, and since i cannot get my enemy in B2B i won’t roll any fear test. It is correct? Or, because I can get my enemy with the boost, can I do the fear test before boosting my movement? (I don’t think so since you should arrive to the fearsome enemy to do this).

 

Finally, modifiers:

A Run Action allow you to move 1,5*Mov. Say you have Move 4, so you can Run 1,5*4=6”.

If you boost your Move by 1 or have a card/effect that add 1 to your Move, do you run 7,5” - would be 1,5*(4+1) or 1,5*4+1=7”? To me seems obvious that you apply modifiers before moving, but I prefer to be sure ^^

 

 

 

 

Axiam
Axiam's picture
Offline
Last seen: 53 min 39 sec ago
Joined: 13/03/2016 - 22:37
Points: 280

Regarding the fear question, you take the test after declaring the action that would bring you into btb, you don't have to actually be able to reach the model, like with disguise, because you aren't removing the beneficial effect from the opponent and you can fail melee and charge ranges but these actions would bring you into btb.

Regarding modifiers to movement, I always boost my stat before declaring the action so my movement is higher and then I run, that way there is no confusion but I think it would always apply anyway because you modify the stat; not the distance (unlike with dash - move 2" at the end of your action).

I'm not big on pre-measuring so this could very well be wrong and having different rules for friendly play versus competitive play is a bit confusing but I think the rule is: declare your model and action, plan a few turns ahead by measuring some distances and then accurately measure out the best way to complete your declared action, bearing in mind you don't have to state a target to declare an action, only when completing one. I assume in friendly pre-measuring you can check distances at any time and boost after measuring but at tournaments that wouldn't be allowed? It's somewhat confusing, for me, having both and I'm very used to not really doing it so probably won't very often bother unless it seems really important to the game plan.

Happy for Jason to correct my tournament interpretation on measuring, if it is incorrect on the planning ahead section and checking distances to targets after declaring the action, as I think that would be very good to be sure on ahead of the games expo this year to avoid any difficult conversations mid match.

Axiam

GCT Master Enos
GCT Master Enos's picture
Online
Last seen: 6 min 20 sec ago
Joined: 05/10/2012 - 00:46
Points: 1280

When we release the full Tournament rule it will be covered in more detail than the quick note in the pdf.

 

Grand Master of Bushido (Smog Con '14)

maldoror42
maldoror42's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 week 1 day ago
Joined: 17/07/2015 - 18:24
Points: 4

Hi,

 

I want to know if the pdf will be add with official icons, pictures and schemes?

 

Thanks a lot,

 

Maldoror42

Gorbad
Offline
Last seen: 12 hours 32 min ago
Joined: 26/02/2017 - 07:16
Points: 70

Arata(Jung) have the Hammer Strike ki feat that gives him unblokable Strike. Shouldn't that be Unblokable X instead as Unblokable strike doesn't seem to exist in the rules?

Similarly both Tetsuso and Hideaki have Critical Strike Attack, bit in the rules it's just called critical strike.

Sgnappa
Offline
Last seen: 2 hours 19 min ago
Joined: 27/11/2017 - 15:55
Points: 0

Some new toughts about Rising Sun...

 

 

 

- Overview

An introductive campaign? WOW

- Stunned

It modify the RS now, makes lot of sense!

- Default “1” Traits

Thanks a lot!

 

 

Questions/Observations:

 

- Enhancement cards

Assuming that a model can have multiple cards, I don’t really get what if “model X and Y are the same...” thing. After that sentence, there are written “The model can only have one

enhancement card as usual.” I don’t think it’s correct.

 

- Melee Dice Pool

I don’t find where is explicated what happens when your Dice Pool drops below 1, Maybe I miss it?

 

- Held

I don’t get why an Held model is no more Held if it fight with another enemy. Why the holding model would let him go, instead of helding him stronger and helps his friendly fighter to kill him? It makes more sense to me that the held model would free if the holding one participate to another melee

 

- SideStep Attack/Defence

After a successful roll you can leave enemy ZoC. Must you move your model “directly away” from the opponent (in that case it should be specified like pg. 7 ), or you can just move “away”? Because in the second case you can simply attack an enemy, and leave his ZoC on the very left moving really more. Finally, A SSA/D gives you the opportunity to change facing of your model?

 

- Split Attack

You get -1 Dice for every enemy after the first. Ok. But do you get other modifiers for melee assist?

For Example, I Played Itsunagi with split attack, so in a 2 fighters melee exchange his Dice Pool is reduced to 3, but I don’t apply assist modifier since he is Indomitable(1). But what happens if he splits on three models? He gets -2 Dices since he’s attacking 3 and this is clear, but does he gets another -1 Dice Pool to be outnumbered?

I think how assists works in a Split Attack should be specified or well exemplified since it could be not very clear.

 

 

 

 

 

 

We are wondering about which model has the attached card, especially for “Ordered fopr Battle”: it could be useful to fulfill the 30 Rice of reserves with some cards and switching them for one or another to face different enemies. But it seems is it not legal, so when you create your warband, every model has his cards and you cannot switch them in and out from reserves. But you could do this for Events and Terrain since this type is not attached to anyone, is it correct?

Always on the Ordered For Battle theme, using it at 70 Rice or 100 Rice could result in a increase or decrease of reserves points?

 

Another question for Split Attack, what happens with side step attack? Maybe itsu use split attack against two enemies, on the first strike he uses SSA and move away from the first fighter. If he continues to be engaged with the second he strikes again, but if he is no more engaged from enemies, the second don’t remove activation counters since he don’t partecipate to any Melee Exchange, right?

 

 

GCT Master Enos
GCT Master Enos's picture
Online
Last seen: 6 min 20 sec ago
Joined: 05/10/2012 - 00:46
Points: 1280

- Enhancement cards

Oops, I will fix that.

 

Melee Dice Pool

Under "Tests" this is explained.

 

- Held

Fixed.

 

SideStep Attack/Defence

You do not have to move directly away, this does result in a lot of movement.

 

- Split Attack

You get modifiers for outnumbering unless you also have Indomitable as normal.

Another question for Split Attack, what happens with side step attack?

If you are no longer in B2B the melee exchange won't happen, any opponents who don't fight don't lose activation counters.

 

- Attached card,

Correct, events and terrain are not attached.

 

 

 

Grand Master of Bushido (Smog Con '14)

Pages

yenohoney