Wraith, intangible and Charge

14 posts / 0 new
Last post
Kevin Dowsett
Offline
Last seen: 4 months 1 week ago
Joined: 31/03/2012
Points: 23
Wraith, intangible and Charge

Here's a little situation that cropped up that I would appreciate some feedback on.

The Cult's Wraith has Intangible and would like to charge Model A.

Positioned close to Model A, and between Model A and the Wraith, is Model B which is not blocking LoS but does prevent the Wraith from being placed however the far side of Model A is clear.

Intangible allows the Wraith to ignore Model B during the Charge but, assuming the Wraith has sufficient movement, can it also use Intangible to pass through Model A and end the Charge in base contact with the far side of Model A?

At which point the Melee starts and they turn to face.

 

Reaper
Reaper's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 years 7 months ago
Joined: 09/06/2011
Points: 122

Yes, you can. Under charge it just says if the movement brings you into BtB with the targeted model, a melee exchange is resolved. As the intangible allows you to move through and still end up in BtB, it is a legal move.

Legend tells of a legendary warrior whose kung fu skills were the stuff of legend.

FatherKnowsBest
FatherKnowsBest's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 9 months ago
Joined: 24/06/2013
Points: 45

Kevin Dowsett wrote:

Here's a little situation that cropped up that I would appreciate some feedback on.

The Cult's Wraith has Intangible and would like to charge Model A.

Positioned close to Model A, and between Model A and the Wraith, is Model B which is not blocking LoS but does prevent the Wraith from being placed however the far side of Model A is clear.

Intangible allows the Wraith to ignore Model B during the Charge but, assuming the Wraith has sufficient movement, can it also use Intangible to pass through Model A and end the Charge in base contact with the far side of Model A?

At which point the Melee starts and they turn to face.

 

 

I love the Wraith Kevin.  Hope your game with Marlon went well.

Kevin Dowsett
Offline
Last seen: 4 months 1 week ago
Joined: 31/03/2012
Points: 23

thanks for the confirmation - it felt right cinematically and I'm glad it was also correct rule-wise

Cult of Yurei (36), Ito Clan (19) and Silvermoon Trade Syndicate (20) now painted up and on the table.

icestorm61
Offline
Last seen: 5 months 4 weeks ago
Joined: 15/02/2014
Points: 61

so would this mean that model A is supprised as you would be attacking from behind?

If it was'nt for bad luck I'd have no luck at all

Ret-Ruro
Ret-Ruro's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 7 months ago
Joined: 22/04/2013
Points: 264

Only if model A didn't see Wraith coming into it's LoS at ANY point during the charge. If even for a split second it moves on a trajectory that makes it be seen by A then there is no Surprise.

Ret-Fleafa
Ret-Fleafa's picture
Offline
Last seen: 16 hours 54 min ago
Joined: 24/05/2013
Points: 315

Following that train of thought; even a Blind model couldn't be Surprised by Wraith doing this, as he would have come into BtB in the process of moving through, therefore being in the Blind model's LoS?

Ret-Ruro
Ret-Ruro's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 7 months ago
Joined: 22/04/2013
Points: 264

Only if the Blinded model was engaged in it's Los (so it's frontal arc). If Wrath comes around to the backside of the model without ever touching LoS (which is BtB when the model is Blind) then it will of course Surprise the enemy. If this is not clear enough then I could make some paintbrush "quality" graphics to that its mutch more graphic :P

minoa
Offline
Last seen: 6 hours 11 min ago
Joined: 31/05/2013
Points: 341

Look out! Did you hear that?! I think it was the "Do models get surprised while they're blind" topic! I'm not sure as my eyes saw it before it my brain could process it...

Right...anyway, this site really needs some stickied threads. I'd guess there's about 3-4 topics that come up every couple months. I think the consensus on this one was no.

Ret-Fleafa
Ret-Fleafa's picture
Offline
Last seen: 16 hours 54 min ago
Joined: 24/05/2013
Points: 315

How about if the Blind model has Aware? :P

Ret-Ruro
Ret-Ruro's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 7 months ago
Joined: 22/04/2013
Points: 264

Then the only way to surprise it is by doing a Ranged attack against it laugh i guess...

Ret-Fleafa
Ret-Fleafa's picture
Offline
Last seen: 16 hours 54 min ago
Joined: 24/05/2013
Points: 315

:)

Ithil
Offline
Last seen: 1 month 4 weeks ago
Joined: 28/08/2017
Points: 0

Good evening all.

 

Very interesting question from the OP. I have a similar question but considering that the acting model does NOT have LoS.

Can an intangible model charge through a terrain or another model, without LoS? In RS rules, page 18 it says " the model targets an ennemy model", so do you need LoS to charge?

Same question for melee, since melee does not require LoS, unless I am wrong, I guess melee can be declared throough a terrain without LoS?

Thank you.

Pierre Roques

Axiam
Axiam's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 hour 8 min ago
Joined: 13/03/2016
Points: 280

Charging requires line of sight (same as running) so if line of sight cannot be made to the target the charge cannot go ahead. Bakemono darkness for example limits you to 4" charges.

The "Melee" action does not require a target, you may simply walk into btb with someone you cannot see. It doesn't make much thematic sense but I think it is assumed that if you are close enough you can hear the opponent making noise in the area and four gaming terms it would ruin the game to require targeting for standard melee.

Regarding charging through enemies, its been ruled that this results in moving away from an opponent so would not be allowed. I don't know if that wording still exists in Risen Sun so it may have changed, best to check in the rule book.

Axiam

yenohoney