Samurai Command

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
Zenvious's picture
Zenvious
Offline
Joined: 10/07/2015
Samurai Command

Ok so I THINK this is right, but I want to be certain:

  • I have a warband that includes Ryoko-Sha (the time-manipulating Samurai) and Katsumoto Takashi (the tactical Samurai). They come with a number of followers (lets just say they are a tone of cheap ashigaru).

 

  • On turn one, both Samurai Focus to have 4 Ki in their Ki pools. At the start of turn 2, this goes up to 6 Ki each (since both can hold up to 8). The rest of the warband move into position up the field.

 

  • On turn 2 Katsumoto gains the initiative by luck of the roll influenced by his Tactician. He uses Tactical Master and burns ALL 6 of his Ki to gain "Command (5/ Friendly)" [since he needs to spend -2 Ki to start this, then his command level is equal to the extra ki spend (4) plus +1 (=5)]
  • He uses this Command to have 4 allies activate, and then has the 5th Command be used on himself (becoming Tired in the process). He then uses the Command on the 5 allies AGAIN (exhausting all but one who becomes tired)
    • The enemy gets to activate ONE model (which may become tired or exhausted depending on their action).
  • Ryoko-Sha then uses Time-Reverseto have Katsumoto, all the Exhausted allies, AND the one tired/exhausted enemy to become rested. Ryoko-Sha is left exhausted
    • The enemy gets to activate one model
  • Katsumoto is now rested and the End phase hasn't yet happened, meaning he still has "Command (5/Friendly)". Meaning he could use his combo twice AGAIN and have the models he chose potentially act 4 times in one turn gaining the benefits of forcing targets to become exhausted, outnumbered, etc...

 

  • On turn 3 with any of their warband who is still alive (due to being Exhausted and at the mercy of the enemy survivors attacking them in the counter-push). Ryoko-Sha says "screw it" and immediately uses "Time Skip" to make everyone become exhausted and end Turn 3 prematurely.

I know there are flaws in the mechanics behind all this but... is this correct? Is this actually possible with these two?

Ret-A_Palmer's picture
Ret-A_Palmer
Offline
Joined: 15/05/2013

I'll look into it.

I don't really see why not (having not done any actual checking btw), but you're aiming for a heavy skew towards a very specific timing with several very specific vulnerabilities:
enemy models engaging either Katsumoto or Ryoko-Sha
you surrender scenario advantage on turn one with a double focus
rice cost in 'support' models is fairly hefty - almost 50% of a 50 rice warband
lack of strong fighters.
after your action-advantage timing you're on the short end of the stick for fighting ability.

It would be interesting to hear how it works out in reality.

Zenvious's picture
Zenvious
Offline
Joined: 10/07/2015

Oh i can see there is quite a few issues to the dedign of this. The question was more is this legally possible - not is doing so effective or wise :)

If it is possible i will look into field testing it to see if it is at all effective.

I think the real question boils down to can the model issuing Command use it on themselves to be part of the "similtanious activation". The rules seem to suggest its fine, but figure better to check pre-game before planning something and finding ot illegal on thr field

Bushido Wikia: http://bushidojo.wikia.com/wiki/Bushidojo_Wiki
Youtube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/ZenviousPlaysGames
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Zenvious

Ret-Dr Kaos's picture
Ret-Dr Kaos
Offline
Joined: 01/04/2013

I have often pondered this as well. It all depends on if you can Command yourself.

Go Dragon Clan!

Ret-A_Palmer's picture
Ret-A_Palmer
Offline
Joined: 15/05/2013

Currently there is nothing stopping a model using Command on itself.

Ret-Dr Kaos's picture
Ret-Dr Kaos
Offline
Joined: 01/04/2013

I will try Katsumoto, Ryoko-Sha, Hiro, Genji and Ancestor Spirit with the Blood of the Dragon theme. That way Katsumoto and Ryoko-Sha can get their extra Ki from the theme and Spirit instead of doing focus actions and Katsumoto will have enough Ki to do one Dominate while his comrades are acting on his Command. Forcing the other side to not use a fully buffed Kaihime or the Geisha while Ryoko-Sha twists the space-time continuum is rather good.

Go Dragon Clan!

Axiam's picture
Axiam
Offline
Joined: 13/03/2016

The rules do not specify 'other friendly' models in command so I can't see a reason why he isn't legally allowed to tell himself to tell more orders, but it seems a bit odd. Would certainly be a powerful combination that seems likely to kill 2-4 models in the turn without reply. Ryoko is an acceptable hth character too so not a waste in the non ki feat turn/s. Let us know how it went!

Axiam

Grimferrus
Offline
Joined: 14/10/2018

Have you got the change to test them out?

I just started bushido with prefecture of ryu, very curious if this list works.

 

Yojimbo1979
Offline
Joined: 16/06/2019

I have wondered on this a black powder based ryu list. Possibly getting to fire twice in a turn then use order so they fire every turn.
Katsumoto
Ryoka-sha
2 x gaurdsman of ryu
Minuro.
This leaves 26pts for some cheap scenario runners.

announcement
yenohoney