who "succeeds" when the success level is 0

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
shintaibane
Offline
Joined: 05/04/2018
who "succeeds" when the success level is 0

So this has been coming up a bit more lately. The result of an attack is leads to a 0 success result. Who wins the exchange? attacker, defender, or both?

I have been playing it as we do the tie breaker and the winner of the tie breaker is the winner.

The confusion comes because the attacker gets to roll damage on the 0 success level but what if the defender had a special defense (say defensive throw). Would the defender also get their special defense off on a 0 success, if they survived the attack, assuming the attacker had initiative?

Also what if the defender had the initiative; with defensive throw would the defender throw the attacker away prior to the attacker rolling on the 0 level chart.

I guess the confusion is that at 0 success level is really a tie and so it throws a bit of a monkey wrench into the works as both have succeeded but not succeeded at the same time.

Any insights would be great. I tried looking up some posts on this forum but lately I have been getting blank pages instead of the actual posts.

Mcgreag
Offline
Joined: 07/08/2019

Yes the winner of the tie breaker wins, note that if the Defender wins the tie breaker the attacker won't roll for damage because it's not a success level 0 attack, it's a success level 0 defence.

Step 10 )
b) If the Defender was successful apply any Special Defences used by the Defender. If this results in either model being removed from the table, the defender no longer being in BtB with the Attacker or becoming Prone skip to Step 14 otherwise move to Step 13.

Step 12 is the damage roll so you skip that if the Defender wins.

shintaibane
Offline
Joined: 05/04/2018

cool, I wasn't 100% sure on that but it makes sense.

So, somewhat related to the tiebreakers, dice that roll a natural 1 are discarded as not successful. What about models with Kata which counts the die results of 1?

Mcgreag
Offline
Joined: 07/08/2019

Kata models do not discard the dice.

http://bushidothegame.wikidot.com/wiki:kata

"*The dice are not removed and can each can be used as supporting dice to find the final result and remain for tiebreakers."

Do note that Kata is only used in melee exhanges so it does not work for other tests like move or ki.

announcement
yenohoney