Movement and Attcking

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
BloodyBarnubus
Offline
Last seen: 3 months 2 weeks ago
Joined: 25/04/2018 - 02:29
Points: 0
Movement and Attcking

When reading the rules it seems to state under the walk section that a model cannot walk into an enemy models zone of control. Would this then mean that the only way to engage someone is from a run or charge? Or if you walk you are required to end in base to base and must make an attack meaning you cannot walk itno the zone of control if you dont attack? 

Troll
Offline
Last seen: 1 month 1 week ago
Joined: 24/07/2017 - 11:38
Points: 0

You can move into base contact with an enemy model by declaring a melee action. I think that There might be some tricky wording about performing a move rather than a walk.

shintaibane
Offline
Last seen: 1 month 1 week ago
Joined: 05/04/2018 - 20:47
Points: 0

I have been messing things up it appears.  As part of a melee action you can move your movement value (aka walk) in the target's zone of control.  However I have been running into the zone of control and then attacking (not a charge) which is not allowed.  

So it appears you can only declare a melee and "walk" into the zone of control of the target or charge into the target's zone of control (move x2) and attack the target.

I do have a question about Charge but I think I know the answer.  Do I take a -1 MS penalty for charging?  I know if I perform a run action during the turn I get a -1 MS penalty but I am not sure if charging counts.  I don't think I get the penalty but as above I have been wrong before!

 

cain
Offline
Last seen: 2 weeks 3 days ago
Joined: 26/07/2011 - 10:49
Points: 211

A run is a run and a charge is a charge. There is no penalty for charging.

The only game i know with this is Helldorado...

 

Ret-A_Palmer
Ret-A_Palmer's picture
Offline
Last seen: 4 hours 17 min ago
Joined: 15/05/2013 - 01:25
Points: 930

There are a number of traits that let you into enemy ZoCs (or flat out ignore them), but without those, the only way to enter a ZoC is through declaring a Melee or Charge action.  Same goes for entering BtB with an enemy model.

shintaibane
Offline
Last seen: 1 month 1 week ago
Joined: 05/04/2018 - 20:47
Points: 0

Thanks for the responses.  I figured Run and Charge were separate but when I saw the melee penalty for running I just wanted to be sure.

Thanks again!

Greg

 

BloodyBarnubus
Offline
Last seen: 3 months 2 weeks ago
Joined: 25/04/2018 - 02:29
Points: 0

Thank you all for your responses very helpful.

Sgnappa
Offline
Last seen: 1 week 1 day ago
Joined: 27/11/2017 - 15:55
Points: 0

Another question on the topic...

 

I have A model that would declare a melee action against the B model. But, the only way to get BtB with B model makes him enters into model C ZoC.

So, the A model, can move B2B against B model, ignoring C ZoC's? If so, is model A overnumbered? C model havo do disengage?

 

This happened when Zuma wants to do a melee Action against Chiyo, but Chiyo was in a narrow passage and Istunagi was flanking her. So Zuma cannot engage Itsu since it would enter Chiyo ZoC, neither Chiyo since would enter Istu ZoC. That seems a little bit illogical to me...

Ret-Fleafa
Ret-Fleafa's picture
Offline
Last seen: 13 hours 54 min ago
Joined: 24/05/2013 - 18:34
Points: 315

Melee: The model must attempt to enter BtB with an En-emy model by moving up to its Move Statistic, during this movement it may only enter into the ZoC of the model with whom it is attempting to enter BtB, whilst within that model’s ZoC it may ignore other Enemy models’ Zones of Control.

You'll almost always touch one ZoC before the other. After that, you ignore the other ZoC. It is extremely unlikely that you'll be in a situation where you contact both ZoC's simultaneously, though I accept it is geometrically possible.

Sgnappa
Offline
Last seen: 1 week 1 day ago
Joined: 27/11/2017 - 15:55
Points: 0

Ok thanks.

 

It could happen when two enemy 30mm minis are in a narrow corridor, flank to flank, and your 50 mm mini engage both in the same time. But it is a situation absolutely theoric, even if it happen I ley my opponent engage one of them (we are playing to have some fun after all).

I have two other doubts:

1) when a 50 mm model fight against one of them, being in another enemy ZoC influences his MS by being outnumbered?

2) if a model starts his activation while he has an enemy in his ZoC (but not B2B), do it have to fight against / disengage from the enemy? Or he can simply walk away? Because if it doesn't declare a Melee action of some type he cannot move into enemies ZoC but - hey - he STARTS in a enemy ZoC.

 

If you have an enemy model in ZoC and consider him engaged, you cannot simply walk away but he suffer for outnumber.

If not, the enemy are not considere outnumbered but you can act normally without necessarily fight him or disengage.

I don't see great advantages for using first or second solution, just want to understand the right way to solve the situation in future games.

 

Thanks again!