Funny business

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
Brandon7220
Offline
Last seen: 2 months 22 hours ago
Joined: 29/09/2016 - 00:25
Points: 0
Funny business

Hi all,

So the other day my friend and I ran into some problems with the rules.  I believe he was pulling some fast ones so I'm looking for clarification.  Now we are not new to this game but it's been several months since we've been able to play so it was difficult to pinpoint what the rule was at the time.  Here are the problems that popped up.

1.  When a model is removed from play due to death, does that model's remaining ki tokens get transfered over to any of the rest of his models?

2. When a model takes multiple penalties to his melee skill can it be lowered to a 0 or is 1 the base minimum? 

3. Can the intangible trait allow you move through a model and then use the remaining movement you have left to turn around and attack the flank of the opposing model for a surprise attack?

Thank you for your clarifications 

Ret-A_Palmer
Ret-A_Palmer's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 hours 39 min ago
Joined: 15/05/2013 - 01:25
Points: 930

1.) No.  The model is dead.  All tokens on it go away.

2.) A model will always roll 1 dice - you can reduce a model to below 1 dice, but for each dice below 1 you go, the other model gains +1 melee dice.
e.g.  My Ryu Yariman (MS 3) somehow applies -3 MS to a Bakemono Beater (MS 2).  That puts the Beater at -1 MS.  That's 2 dice below MS 1, so the Yariman gains +2 melee dice.

3.) Move through yes.  It will most likely not Surprise the enemy model though as the entire movement must somehow avoid the stationary model's LoS.

Brandon7220
Offline
Last seen: 2 months 22 hours ago
Joined: 29/09/2016 - 00:25
Points: 0

Thank you for the clarification.

I must admit I though the intangible move was a legal play he did but it makes sense if the defending model had line of sight on the model in first place.

I didn't know about gain extra melee skill dice after you knock a model below 0.  Makes things interesting for furture play.

The token thing I new had to be bull *** but we didn't have the time to go scouring for the rule.

 

Brandon7220
Offline
Last seen: 2 months 22 hours ago
Joined: 29/09/2016 - 00:25
Points: 0

Thank you for the clarification.

I must admit I thought the intangible move was a legal play he did but it makes sense if the defending model had line of sight on the model in first place.

I didn't know about gaining extra melee skill dice after you knock a model below 0.  Makes things interesting for furture play.

The token thing I new had to be bull *** but we didn't have the time to go scouring for the rule.

 

Sgnappa
Offline
Last seen: 9 hours 8 min ago
Joined: 27/11/2017 - 15:55
Points: 0

About the point (2), I was convinced that the model that drop his MS below 1 suffers a -1 penalty to the final reslut of the roll, for ex. a model reduced to MS 0 rolls 1 dice but subtract 1 from the result.

Have I losed something about it?

Meavar
Meavar's picture
Offline
Last seen: 11 hours 47 min ago
Joined: 12/12/2013 - 13:05
Points: 117

Fear that is not correct Sgnappa.

It is just that you give dice to the opponent (which is annoying enough).

 

Example.
A bakemono spearman (Melee 2) is exhausted and attacked by Haru (melee 3) in the back.
The exhausted gives -1 dice and the surprised gives -1 dice so the bakemono has 0 dice left.
Both players get 1 extra die (to make sure the bakemono has at least 1)
So in the end the bakemono has 1 die and Haru has 4 dice.

If the bakemono was not a spearman but an bakemono archer (melee 1) then he would have 1-2 (surprised and exhausted)thus   -1 dice
To give the archer 1 die Haru would get 2 extra dice for a total of 5 dice against 1!!

No further penalties on dicerolls, just (a lot) less dice than your opponent.
 

Meavar

yenohoney