Disguise vs ranged tests

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
Da Gobbo's Grotto
Da Gobbo's Grotto's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 months 4 days ago
Joined: 05/24/2016 - 07:37
Points: 50
Disguise vs ranged tests

This scenario came up the other day and I want to run it past you guys

Rose is disguised, ninja player knows that the model is well out of shuriken range (by a loooooong way) declares a ranged action against the rose knowin it would force the disguise test anyway - legit?

 

personally I think it's totally spammy and against the intention/feel of the game but....

undead_ichi
undead_ichi's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 week 12 hours ago
Joined: 06/29/2012 - 14:06
Points: 1009

yeah i would tell my oponent to not be a dick 

Ret-JamesHasker09
Ret-JamesHasker09's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 week 1 day ago
Joined: 02/05/2013 - 14:10
Points: 709

That is a "dick" move to make but it a legal action.

As it can happen if they model was only 1mm out of Range. But yes I understand that as he's doing it to get rid of the disguised it is a dodgy move to do.
But rules wise there's nothing saying you can declare a ranged action if it's not in range. (As this is a non pre measure game then it's just a waisted activation for himself)

Grand Master 2016

Hakkor
Hakkor's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 month 3 weeks ago
Joined: 03/15/2012 - 13:50
Points: 339

Same would happen if you declare a melee on turn 1 and target a rose being 20'' away, right? I has happened to me.

GCT Master Enos
GCT Master Enos's picture
Offline
Last seen: 10 hours 55 min ago
Joined: 10/05/2012 - 00:46
Points: 1280

Toby previously ruled this illegal.  Otherwise the Grey Pilgrim can automatically remove disguise at will from anywhere.

It didn't make the errata last time (We did double the size of it so we got most things) so I'll repeat the ruling and it will be in the next one (Probably with better wording):

After making the disguise test, if the model is out of range or the active model cannot reach btb with the disguised model as appropriate, the target model remains disguised.

Grand Master of Bushido (Smog Con '14)

undead_ichi
undead_ichi's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 week 12 hours ago
Joined: 06/29/2012 - 14:06
Points: 1009

cool cheers Master Enos

Da Gobbo's Grotto
Da Gobbo's Grotto's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 months 4 days ago
Joined: 05/24/2016 - 07:37
Points: 50

Cool cheers Master Enos

"When you talk, you are only repeating what you already know. When you listen, you learn something new."
Dalai Lama

“Move swift as the Wind and closely-formed as the Wood. Attack like the Fire and be still as the Mountain"
Sun Tze. The Art of War

Da Gobbo's Grotto
Da Gobbo's Grotto's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 months 4 days ago
Joined: 05/24/2016 - 07:37
Points: 50

Sorry Undead Ichi, I just totally copied you must be having a senior moment

***note to self be more original***

"When you talk, you are only repeating what you already know. When you listen, you learn something new."
Dalai Lama

“Move swift as the Wind and closely-formed as the Wood. Attack like the Fire and be still as the Mountain"
Sun Tze. The Art of War

Damon Carlton
Damon Carlton's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 months 2 weeks ago
Joined: 10/31/2016 - 23:24
Points: 60

We agreed before hand that it wouldn't happen that way but also if I wanted to make a ranged attack and it fell short an inch or less as there's no pre-measure we would allow it but good to see it cast in stone too. Now we know it can't be done and that the figure stays disguised. Cool beanz

Rule'z of the Nerdherd
A proud owner of a gold Bushido coin and a wooden spoon.

Hakkor
Hakkor's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 month 3 weeks ago
Joined: 03/15/2012 - 13:50
Points: 339

GCT Master Enos wrote:

After making the disguise test, if the model is out of range or the active model cannot reach btb with the disguised model as appropriate, the target model remains disguised.

Bravo! :) So simple I even didn't think of it like that.

yenohoney