tournament scoring

23 posts / 0 new
Last post
Damon Carlton
Damon Carlton's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 weeks 5 days ago
Joined: 10/31/2016 - 23:24
Points: 60
tournament scoring

Just playing some friendly games, and I have 2 questions;

1: If a player forfeits during a game in turn 4, do you only count VP's to that turn or does the player who didn't forfeit gain the VP in turn 6? I'm presuming they do.

2: One shotting a player, killing a player in one go with full wounds. Situation is this Wasapu uses strafe ki feat allowing 2 range attacks in a single activation. He kills his opponent with both range attacks from his ki feat. Now is that one shotting or not?? I think not as its 2 range attacks but my opponent says I is as its from one activation.

Damon Carlton
Damon Carlton's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 weeks 5 days ago
Joined: 10/31/2016 - 23:24
Points: 60

Question is in regards to using the tournament honours that was posted on the FB page awhile back.

Rule'z of the Nerdherd
A proud owner of a gold Bushido coin and a wooden spoon.

Damon Carlton
Damon Carlton's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 weeks 5 days ago
Joined: 10/31/2016 - 23:24
Points: 60

Question 2 that is

Rule'z of the Nerdherd
A proud owner of a gold Bushido coin and a wooden spoon.

GCT Master Enos
GCT Master Enos's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 hours 24 min ago
Joined: 10/05/2012 - 00:46
Points: 1280

2: please do not kill players.

 

Ill post when I'm at a real computer.

Grand Master of Bushido (Smog Con '14)

GCT Master Enos
GCT Master Enos's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 hours 24 min ago
Joined: 10/05/2012 - 00:46
Points: 1280

If the game ends at turn 4, there is no scoring on turn 6 because it doesn't happen.  Nobody scores that point.

This is a key part of Bushido as you cannot win just by killing opposing models.  Some factions are considerably better at combat than others, it would be easy to make a list where they could just kill all the enemy models and win.  The scenarios mean the factions that can manoeuvre or tank can play into melee based lists and still win because its not about just killing enemies. 

This does mean, yes, it can happen that you get wiped out and win the game.  This is intentional and very thematic from a narrative point of view.  

However... you saids forfeits a game, we often agree the ends of bushido games as the limited number of activations and strict scoring rules mean at some point it is clear what will happen.  Its reasonable to say "I cannot contest you on turn 6 so lets stop now and say you score it" but its not acceptable to quit before scoring to deny a person points they may have scored.  Basically you cannot "Concede for advantage" in Bushido.

Grand Master of Bushido (Smog Con '14)

Damon Carlton
Damon Carlton's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 weeks 5 days ago
Joined: 10/31/2016 - 23:24
Points: 60

Thanks and yes that is what I was thinking as we both conceded a game each at 2-0 down.

Your views on question 2. One shot or not? Kills a model in one activation but using a Ki feat that allows 2 range attacks......

Rule'z of the Nerdherd
A proud owner of a gold Bushido coin and a wooden spoon.

minoa
Offline
Last seen: 46 min 45 sec ago
Joined: 05/31/2013 - 17:21
Points: 341

I don't understand what the point of question 2 is...bragging rights? Am I missing something?

Da Gobbo's Grotto
Da Gobbo's Grotto's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 day 18 hours ago
Joined: 05/24/2016 - 07:37
Points: 50

minoa wrote:

I don't understand what the point of question 2 is...bragging rights? Am I missing something?

its one of the conditions of the "honours" points system for campaigns that turned up on the FB page from Ret-darkframbosier........and bragging rights

"When you talk, you are only repeating what you already know. When you listen, you learn something new."
Dalai Lama

“Move swift as the Wind and closely-formed as the Wood. Attack like the Fire and be still as the Mountain"
Sun Tze. The Art of War

Damon Carlton
Damon Carlton's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 weeks 5 days ago
Joined: 10/31/2016 - 23:24
Points: 60

Me and the da gobbo are of different views so looking to see what others think......

Rule'z of the Nerdherd
A proud owner of a gold Bushido coin and a wooden spoon.

Ret-A_Palmer
Ret-A_Palmer's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 hour 16 min ago
Joined: 05/15/2013 - 01:25
Points: 930

To me "one-shotting" something is hitting it once and getting the kill.  To 1-shot an Oni you need a SL8 attack and roll 12+ on the damage table - provided you don't have sharp, then you only need SL7 (11+ on damage roll).


It always goes to tiebreakers.

The Jumo Ring - a Bushido Blog

minoa
Offline
Last seen: 46 min 45 sec ago
Joined: 05/31/2013 - 17:21
Points: 341

Yeah I don't do fb so I didn't know what the issue was.

I agree with Ret-Palmer but if the condition is in a single "activation", then I think Wasapu gets it with his feat. 2 shots in a single "activation". Seems pretty clear to me.

Damon Carlton
Damon Carlton's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 weeks 5 days ago
Joined: 10/31/2016 - 23:24
Points: 60

Well that's one a piece kind of.

 

Remember Wasapu makes two range attacks with his ki feat, that's my argument, whereas Andy thinks along the lines of Minoa that it took one activation.

Of course then if we did agree with Minoa, then if you commanded two or more of your troops to attack one miniature then that would also count as one shotting and so would group activation........

Rule'z of the Nerdherd
A proud owner of a gold Bushido coin and a wooden spoon.

Da Gobbo's Grotto
Da Gobbo's Grotto's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 day 18 hours ago
Joined: 05/24/2016 - 07:37
Points: 50

Damon Carlton wrote:

Of course then if we did agree with Minoa, then if you commanded two or more of your troops to attack one miniature then that would also count as one shotting and so would group activation........

two different models making the attack is a bit different than a single model using a repeating weapon. Think of it as a single burst if you like.

"When you talk, you are only repeating what you already know. When you listen, you learn something new."
Dalai Lama

“Move swift as the Wind and closely-formed as the Wood. Attack like the Fire and be still as the Mountain"
Sun Tze. The Art of War

Damon Carlton
Damon Carlton's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 weeks 5 days ago
Joined: 10/31/2016 - 23:24
Points: 60

You just said repeating weapon as in more Tha one attack lol

Rule'z of the Nerdherd
A proud owner of a gold Bushido coin and a wooden spoon.

Da Gobbo's Grotto
Da Gobbo's Grotto's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 day 18 hours ago
Joined: 05/24/2016 - 07:37
Points: 50

I also said think of it like a single burst...

"When you talk, you are only repeating what you already know. When you listen, you learn something new."
Dalai Lama

“Move swift as the Wind and closely-formed as the Wood. Attack like the Fire and be still as the Mountain"
Sun Tze. The Art of War

Axiam
Axiam's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 hour 32 min ago
Joined: 03/13/2016 - 22:37
Points: 280

Considering that rapid fire is two or more completely separate ranged attacks, including targeting, I don't think it can be considered a burst. So I would have to argue that it is not a single shot kill (unlike a successful critical strike or combo1 attack for example).

Axiam

Damon Carlton
Damon Carlton's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 weeks 5 days ago
Joined: 10/31/2016 - 23:24
Points: 60

I agree but combo makes more than damage roll so I would say that its not one shotting your target as you have rolled for damage more than once.......

Rule'z of the Nerdherd
A proud owner of a gold Bushido coin and a wooden spoon.

minoa
Offline
Last seen: 46 min 45 sec ago
Joined: 05/31/2013 - 17:21
Points: 341

@Damon Carlton So just say you think only an Oni can make a "one shot" kill. Sounds like that's what you're trying to get the community to agree with.

If combo attack doesn't qualify in your mind, I'm not sure anything the community says will change your opinion.

Damon Carlton
Damon Carlton's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 weeks 5 days ago
Joined: 10/31/2016 - 23:24
Points: 60

No that's not what I'm saying or trying to prove. Katsumi has one shotted someone in our games, so has Kenko, Minaro, dafukia, and wasapu before. There's probably more. Can't think right now but I'm sure there's others. Andy might remember some.

It's just a difference of opinion on this matter as I have explained above.

Rule'z of the Nerdherd
A proud owner of a gold Bushido coin and a wooden spoon.

Axiam
Axiam's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 hour 32 min ago
Joined: 03/13/2016 - 22:37
Points: 280

A peasant farmer has one shot a ninja before but I think combo attack would apply as you only roll once to hit, the success of that hit determines how much damage you do, just like powerful attack, only instead of influencing the damage roll you get to roll more times. It still requires a good hit to be able to one shot any model.

Axiam

Axiam
Axiam's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 hour 32 min ago
Joined: 03/13/2016 - 22:37
Points: 280

Otherwise it would be mostly powerful attack and brutal models getting the one shots.

Axiam

Da Gobbo's Grotto
Da Gobbo's Grotto's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 day 18 hours ago
Joined: 05/24/2016 - 07:37
Points: 50

Combo attack definitely counts, not sure where you're going with that Damon. A flurry of blows from a single attack, no multiple rolls just depends on success levels.  Mate I've got to say I think you've list the plot, it doesn't matter.....

 

oh and Wasupu deffo one shotted your Oni, get over it ;-)

"When you talk, you are only repeating what you already know. When you listen, you learn something new."
Dalai Lama

“Move swift as the Wind and closely-formed as the Wood. Attack like the Fire and be still as the Mountain"
Sun Tze. The Art of War

Damon Carlton
Damon Carlton's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 weeks 5 days ago
Joined: 10/31/2016 - 23:24
Points: 60

Lol. I'm sorry but I really am of the same mind as ret palmer. I wouldn't claim it with my ninjas myself. Its a moot point. We'll have to roll a dice and settle it that way. Either one hit, one damage roll or one activation is a one shotter and let the dice gods decide

Rule'z of the Nerdherd
A proud owner of a gold Bushido coin and a wooden spoon.

yenohoney