Another Karapan question

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
fabiusbile
Offline
Last seen: 3 months 2 days ago
Joined: 04/10/2016 - 18:28
Points: 0
Another Karapan question

Hi,

I'm not sure to understand well the rules of Karapan.

 

It says : "When this model damages an enemy model in a melee exchange using the bite weapon, immediately perform another melee exchange using the bite weapon. This does not worsen either model's condition."

 

So, if Karapan is the active model:

What is the good option ?

First option

1. Karapan melee a non first strike model with claw. 

2. Karapan wound the model with claw

3 Karapan melee defender with bite 

4 Defender become attacker if alive

Seconde option

1. Karapan melee a non first strike model with claw. 

2. Karapan wound the model with claw

3. Defender become attacker if alive.

4 If alive Karapan become attacker and melee defender with bite 

5 Defender become attacker if alive

 

I hope you will understand what I say.

I think the first option is correct but I am not sure. My english is a bit weak...

 

Thank you.

 

Lazarus01
Lazarus01's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 months 1 week ago
Joined: 15/06/2017 - 00:56
Points: 0

The corrent answer is option #1 because the card says "immediately."

Think Karapan grabbing the opponent with claws and then bitting them while it is grabbing them.

It would be something like that.

Axiam
Axiam's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 days 19 hours ago
Joined: 13/03/2016 - 22:37
Points: 280

I think the terminology around melee exchange suggests that the entire melee happens then a second full melee exchange immediately occurs, using bite, if desired.
It does raise the question of who is the attacker for the bite however, especially if the karapan injures an enemy in the opponents turn or against lightning reflexes.

Axiam

GCT Master Enos
GCT Master Enos's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 hours 10 min ago
Joined: 05/10/2012 - 00:46
Points: 1280

Complete the full claw melee exchange first.  There is no timing step within a melee exchange to perform another melee exchange.

The Active model has the initiative.

Grand Master of Bushido (Smog Con '14)

Axiam
Axiam's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 days 19 hours ago
Joined: 13/03/2016 - 22:37
Points: 280

Thanks for the quick response. One final question: if the model was surprised for the first claw attack, is the second attack no longer with the benefit of surprise, as the model now knows the Karapan is there?
Thanks!

Axiam

GCT Master Enos
GCT Master Enos's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 hours 10 min ago
Joined: 05/10/2012 - 00:46
Points: 1280

The surprised sate ends after the Melee Action is resolved so the model is not surprised for the bite attack.

Grand Master of Bushido (Smog Con '14)