Does the defender become the attacker after being thrown?

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
felixhayes4
Offline
Last seen: 1 month 1 week ago
Joined: 24/06/2017 - 14:20
Points: 0
Does the defender become the attacker after being thrown?

Hi All,

New to this and trying to understand the rules and I had a query about if the defender becomes the attacker after being thrown d2" from the attacker? Or do they loose their chance to attack? And become prone...?

Thanks!

Ret-darkframboisier
Ret-darkframboisier's picture
Offline
Last seen: 13 hours 55 min ago
Joined: 15/10/2015 - 16:41
Points: 0

Yep they lose their chance to attack and they do become prone. Thowing is very strong

Hakkor
Hakkor's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 months 3 weeks ago
Joined: 15/03/2012 - 13:50
Points: 339

Yes, the same as a slam attack, sweep attack, push attack, push defense or side step defense, if the defender becomes prone or is moved away from btb, you jump to the combat resolution and so ir does not attack back

DB1133
Offline
Last seen: 2 months 2 weeks ago
Joined: 25/07/2017 - 06:54
Points: 0

Hi guys! Somewhat of a new player here...

 

say for example that a character wants to disengage from combat, rules state that he has to disengage after successfully defending. if the character that he is disengaging from does sidestep defense and succeeds, does that mean that as the character that wants to disengage could not defend (and therefore did not defend successfully) he cannot move after combat?

Ret-A_Palmer
Ret-A_Palmer's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 hours 33 min ago
Joined: 15/05/2013 - 01:25
Points: 930

That would be correct.

cain
Offline
Last seen: 3 weeks 6 days ago
Joined: 26/07/2011 - 10:49
Points: 211

I dont understand. When both models put their dice in defense both succeed in defending. So why the disengaging model have to stop?

Ret-A_Palmer
Ret-A_Palmer's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 hours 33 min ago
Joined: 15/05/2013 - 01:25
Points: 930

In normal circumstances, the disengaging model (Model A) attacks first.  So the model that Model A is attempting to move away from (Model B) defends first.

If Model B declares a special that moves it out of BtB the melee exchange will end before Model A can resolve their defence dice.  This means they did not successfully defend while resolving their Disengage action.  You can also fail your disengage by killing the enemy model instead if you put any dice into attack.

cain
Offline
Last seen: 3 weeks 6 days ago
Joined: 26/07/2011 - 10:49
Points: 211

hm i see. but if model A tried to escape btb by disengaging and both models are not in btb after model A got what it wanted somehow.
i have to check the timing for all the specials again. didnt see much reason for some of them but when they prevent the attack completely by resolving the movement first...

DB1133
Offline
Last seen: 2 months 2 weeks ago
Joined: 25/07/2017 - 06:54
Points: 0

Hi! Thanks for checking this up... we did find it a bit strange that If a model wanted to disengage, so a disengage action was declared, and suddenly it's not in combat anymore it would be just rational that the model would move after the combat finished. 

yenohoney