Los and Camouflage

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
ghiacciolo79
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 8 months ago
Joined: 27/08/2016
Points: 0
Los and Camouflage

From the rulebook "canouflage" trait really ignores any reference to LoS, so is it possible to say that a camouflage model is in LoS while behind partial cover?

for example:

can camouflaged Shizuka  use shadowalk if she's in partial cover (ie she is in partial LoS)?

can a camouflaged model make a surprise range attack against a model which stays beyond camouflage range?

 

thank you

Axiam
Axiam's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 hour 22 min ago
Joined: 13/03/2016
Points: 280

Unfortunately camouflage is entirely separate from LoS. A model does not lose it's LoS due to camouflage it merely cannot target a model until close enough to get passed the camo distance.

For Shizuka to use Shadow Step she has to have her entire volume with obscuring cover between her and all enemies forward facing or be behind all enemies (smoke bombs help to facilitate this).

Also, as camo does not change LoS, just their targeting, attacking from cover does not surprise opponents unless they are already looking the wrong way at the beginning of your activation. I believe it is not possible to ever surprise an enemy with an attack to the front of the model.

Axiam

Damon Carlton
Damon Carlton's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 10 months ago
Joined: 31/10/2016
Points: 60

So camouflaged models cannot be targeted by ranged ki feats till they're within the camo distance?

Rule'z of the Nerdherd
A proud owner of a gold Bushido coin and a wooden spoon.

Ret-A_Palmer
Ret-A_Palmer's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 hours 2 min ago
Joined: 15/05/2013
Points: 930

Correct, as long as they are benefitting from cover generated by terrain element - certain models can generate these btw.  Camouflage does not trigger if the cover is provided only by other models.

Ithil
Offline
Last seen: 1 month 4 weeks ago
Joined: 28/08/2017
Points: 0

Good evening all.

I tested camouflage with the new rules, just to be clear in case there is a difference from the non RS rules.

What happen if an ennemy declare a melee to one of my ninja which is under cover, but when we measure we realise the ninja is actually 2.5" away so the camouflage prevent the melee.

Does the opponent lose it's action? does he move at all? does he loose an activation marker? Or nothing happens and he can choose another target or even model to activate?

 

Thank you.

Pierre Roques

Axiam
Axiam's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 hour 22 min ago
Joined: 13/03/2016
Points: 280

@Ithil the active player would not have been able to even declare the action so can freely choose something/someone else to activate. No one loses activations due to camo failure. They simply do not spot that an enemy is there.

Axiam

yenohoney