Can I declare Do koto after the meele exchange rolled?

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
iotaomicron's picture
iotaomicron
Offline
Joined: 03/05/2018
Can I declare Do koto after the meele exchange rolled?

Can I declare "Do koto" after the meele exchange rolled?  (my active action)

Mcgreag
Offline
Joined: 07/08/2019

No because there are only 2 times (well 3 but one is limited to initiative changing feats) during a melee exchange where you are allowed to perform ki feats.

First is before any dice are rolled.

Second is after the dice are rolled and finished modified but before damage rolls are made.

So because Do Kote allow you to modify the melee dice it has to be activated before the dice are rolled. If you had a feat that allowed you to modifiy the damage roll you could wait with that until after the melee dice has been rolled and modified but before damage rolls. But during that timing only Instant Ki feats are allow so for example Yim (from the Temple of Ro-Kan starter) could not use his Fists of Iron feat at that time as it's an Active feat, he could use Iron Arm but only for the Tough (1) effect as the success levels has already been set so Parry (1) would do nothing.

If you look in the rule book on page 40-41 https://www.dropbox.com/s/bpazj7ahgqt3d34/Bushido-Rulebook-TextBlock.pdf?dl=b

Ki feats can only be used during step 3b, 4 and 11

iotaomicron's picture
iotaomicron
Offline
Joined: 03/05/2018

Thanks.  very clear.

announcement
yenohoney