Grey pilgrim & ranged attack

22 posts / 0 new
Last post
Joueur 1156
Joueur 1156's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 10 months ago
Joined: 07/19/2012 - 08:30
Points: 409
Grey pilgrim & ranged attack

Hello there,

I have two questions about the grey pilgrim. Both concern her ranged attack.
 

  • Can the Grey Pilgrim chains the ranged attack with Raijin's Rage? E.g.: succesful RA on Hanso, she uses Raijin's Rage on Hiro -> succesful RA on Hiro, can she use again Rajin's rage? If yes, can it be again on Hanso or must she change the target?
  • If the Grey Pilgrim may chain the Raijin's Rage, may she uses a peasant faith to pay only 1 per Raijin's Rage?
     

Thanks you very much gentlemen!

Joueur 1156

Henrix
Henrix's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 9 months ago
Joined: 04/07/2012 - 09:13
Points: 1807

There was a long and heated discussion about this just a page or so away.

I'm in the camp that says that 'an' attack means that it is just one extra attack. And have ruled so at a tournament.

The other way madness lies.

 

 

A ruling (and errata) by Master T (or G, C, or O, for that matter ;-) ) would be nice.

I follow the rules of bushido. I am a bushi.

Swedish players, rally to Hokuō Bushido!

Joueur 1156
Joueur 1156's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 10 months ago
Joined: 07/19/2012 - 08:30
Points: 409

Yeap I saw the discussion. I wanted to relaunch it to may be invoke the god and have a decision.

Waited for the errata but since it's not stated in that it's not forbidden, I'm in the camp of madness ;- )

Atrus
Atrus's picture
Offline
Last seen: 14 hours 55 min ago
Joined: 02/04/2012 - 02:14
Points: 1081

I would apreciate a clarification on this too ^^

Bushido its not about Killing, its about Tactic.
Welcome to the Oriental-Fantasy-Fusion Game.
http://thetempleofbushido.wordpress.com

Woo
Woo's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 month 2 weeks ago
Joined: 06/05/2014 - 01:10
Points: 25

She does have a very short range for her ranged attacks though. At 2/4/6 it doesn't seem unreasonable as she has to keep spending ki to buy those attacks. It's not like your opponent doesn't know that she can do it, so they are unlikely to keep many models within 3" of each other.

Cheers,

Woo.

GCT Master T
GCT Master T's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 months 1 week ago
Joined: 04/12/2011 - 19:18
Points: 1768

*Appears in pufff of smoke following evocation*

It should be once per activation, so once per Ranged Attack action. It'll be in the next Errata.

"To a real warrior, power perceived may be power achieved."

Atrus
Atrus's picture
Offline
Last seen: 14 hours 55 min ago
Joined: 02/04/2012 - 02:14
Points: 1081

Thank you Master!!

Bushido its not about Killing, its about Tactic.
Welcome to the Oriental-Fantasy-Fusion Game.
http://thetempleofbushido.wordpress.com

GCT Master T
GCT Master T's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 months 1 week ago
Joined: 04/12/2011 - 19:18
Points: 1768

Your welcome

"To a real warrior, power perceived may be power achieved."

Joueur 1156
Joueur 1156's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 10 months ago
Joined: 07/19/2012 - 08:30
Points: 409

The gods have revealed Themselves to us!
Thanks!

ErikS
ErikS's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 months 1 week ago
Joined: 08/02/2013 - 07:52
Points: 50

Just a gentle reminder: the "an attack" without "once per activation" is now on both The Thunder and The Storm.

GCT Master Enos
GCT Master Enos's picture
Offline
Last seen: 19 hours 43 min ago
Joined: 10/05/2012 - 00:46
Points: 1280

Hmmm, it seems GCT have changed their minds.  Master T?

 

Grand Master of Bushido (Smog Con '14)

GCT Master T
GCT Master T's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 months 1 week ago
Joined: 04/12/2011 - 19:18
Points: 1768

Nope it'll be in the errata

"To a real warrior, power perceived may be power achieved."

Ret-Dr Kaos
Ret-Dr Kaos's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 days 21 hours ago
Joined: 04/01/2013 - 02:25
Points: 579

I am also curious about the "does not require LoS" wording. Does it mean LoS from the original shooter but still LoS between the new target and the original target or does it mean that the new attack does not need LoS from the attacker and the original target?
 Example: Matsu shoots Akimoto and uses Raijin's Rage. Can she now target Itsunagi who is standing behind a big boulder that blocks LoS to both Matsu and Akimoto? If you do require LoS from Akimoto (the original target) and the boulder would only partially block LoS between Itsunagi and Akimoto (giving cover) would then Itsunagi benefit from said cover?

Go Dragon Clan!

GCT Master T
GCT Master T's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 months 1 week ago
Joined: 04/12/2011 - 19:18
Points: 1768

Between the model making the Ranged Attack and the Targetted model. 

"To a real warrior, power perceived may be power achieved."

ErikS
ErikS's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 months 1 week ago
Joined: 08/02/2013 - 07:52
Points: 50

I'm sorry, MasterT, but I don't understand. Do the LoS between the initial Target and the secondary target matter or not? Can the attack go through a solid wall (or rock, as in above)?
My question comes from visualising Raijin's Rage as some sort of electrical bolt that bounces on after hitting the first Target. So from that I'm thinking that the secondary attack is a ranged attack originating from the initial Target.

Ret-A_Palmer
Ret-A_Palmer's picture
Offline
Last seen: 55 min 28 sec ago
Joined: 05/15/2013 - 01:25
Points: 930

Having it as an actual ranged attack makes it fairly complicated:
Does the target benefit from cover? (since it is determined by LoS most of the time)  Does it benefit some of the time (such as when standing in an obscuring terrain feature) but not others (such as being behind a wall or something)?

Maybe it should be a ranged attack skill target  test (target number 5) with a fixed success level (2?) to simplify how it works - though I foresee a good 50% of people will still treat it as a ranged attack if that were to change.


It always goes to tiebreakers.

The Jumo Ring - a Bushido Blog

GCT Master T
GCT Master T's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 months 1 week ago
Joined: 04/12/2011 - 19:18
Points: 1768

Hey,

Ok, sorry for the confusion. The LoS requirement from the model making the Attack is not required but is required from the orginial model hit and the model Targetted would gain Cover if its volume is obstructed by cover.

"To a real warrior, power perceived may be power achieved."

Ret-Dr Kaos
Ret-Dr Kaos's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 days 21 hours ago
Joined: 04/01/2013 - 02:25
Points: 579

Good answer and thank you for the clarifikation.

Go Dragon Clan!

ErikS
ErikS's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 months 1 week ago
Joined: 08/02/2013 - 07:52
Points: 50

May I suggest a different wording?

"... it may make an additional Ranged Attack against a model within 3" of the Targeted model. This Ranged Attack is considered in the Medium Ranged Band and Line of Sight is measured from the initially Targeted model."

GCT Master T
GCT Master T's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 months 1 week ago
Joined: 04/12/2011 - 19:18
Points: 1768

Suggestions are always welcome. I do like do how this community is able to work together to problem solve :)

"To a real warrior, power perceived may be power achieved."

McGordon
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 1 month ago
Joined: 10/19/2014 - 11:57
Points: 15

What would happen if the second model  has Camoflage 2 and benefit from cover? Would I be unable to arc to it?

Of course assuming that it is more than 2 away from the original target.

Ret-A_Palmer
Ret-A_Palmer's picture
Offline
Last seen: 55 min 28 sec ago
Joined: 05/15/2013 - 01:25
Points: 930

You wouldn't be able to target it since the lightning bounce still a Ranged Attack.


It always goes to tiebreakers.

The Jumo Ring - a Bushido Blog

yenohoney