Sweep Attack

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
madpat
Offline
Joined: 20/02/2018
Sweep Attack

Sweep Attack

A model has initiative and successfully performs sweep attack. Does the defender (now prone) still resolve it's attack? Dice have already been allocated, so the prone dice penalty wouldn't apply.

Please explain yes or no answer.

Thanks!

Ret-dgraz's picture
Ret-dgraz
Offline
Joined: 22/05/2011

No. There's a step in the melee order of operations that checks for prone/btb before the defender resolves their attack.

Some days it's just not worth chewing through the restraints.

kotep's picture
kotep
Offline
Joined: 23/01/2015

I would say yes the defender still gets to resolve it's attack (provided it lives thru step 12).
Since the defender was knocked prone in step 10A, proceeding to step 11 (instant ki feats), then to step 12 (damage roll) and of the model is still alive step 13 says to go back to step 10 and repeat with roles reversed.
Once this is resolved, then the prone model has -1 MS next activation and it's only action is to stand up.
Or am I missing something?

Ret-Aenion
Offline
Joined: 02/06/2018

Step 12 states that a defending model that is no longer in BtB or is Prone, doesn't get to counter attack.

kotep's picture
kotep
Offline
Joined: 23/01/2015

Ah, thank you!

announcement