Disengaging?

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
Samurguy990
Offline
Last seen: 2 weeks 13 hours ago
Joined: 21/09/2017 - 13:33
Points: 0
Disengaging?

Hi, im new to bushido, and i noticed there doesnt seem to be a penalty to disengaging from melee. Am i reqding the rules wrong? Otherwise, is there something else that prevents models from running (by making it tactically disadvantageous)? Thanks.

Ret-darkframboisier
Ret-darkframboisier's picture
Offline
Last seen: 15 min 8 sec ago
Joined: 15/10/2015 - 16:41
Points: 0

Well you have to resolve a melee exchange beforehand: it can fail, somebody can die...

Samurguy990
Offline
Last seen: 2 weeks 13 hours ago
Joined: 21/09/2017 - 13:33
Points: 0

Huh. I must have missed that rule. If you move out of combat, you have to resolve a melee exchange?

Measure once, roll twice — a silvermoon player

Samurguy990
Offline
Last seen: 2 weeks 13 hours ago
Joined: 21/09/2017 - 13:33
Points: 0

I'm still in the stage where I'm constantly referencing the rulebook, so it's pretty plausible I would have missed something like that. It also doen't help that the most complicate miniatures game I've played before is X-wing :P.

Measure once, roll twice — a silvermoon player

GCT Master Enos
GCT Master Enos's picture
Online
Last seen: 7 min 4 sec ago
Joined: 05/10/2012 - 00:46
Points: 1280

You cant use a Walk action to walk out of melee.  In melee if you want to move away, you must declare a Disengage Action which requires a melee exchange.

Grand Master of Bushido (Smog Con '14)

Troll
Offline
Last seen: 19 hours 28 min ago
Joined: 24/07/2017 - 11:38
Points: 0

Does this also apply to out of turn moves for instance those generated by a ki feat?

GCT Master Enos
GCT Master Enos's picture
Online
Last seen: 7 min 4 sec ago
Joined: 05/10/2012 - 00:46
Points: 1280

Yes, if the Ki Feat says it allows a walk, then it cannot be used to move out of melee.  A place or just a "Move" would allow this.

Grand Master of Bushido (Smog Con '14)