Rewording and clarifications

83 posts / 0 new
Last post
HMK's picture
HMK
Offline
Joined: 16/06/2016

Alright, cool. Well, that certainly needs clearing up since it litterary says "a profile card can only have one enhancment card attached" right now. ;) And like i said, some cards, at least some for the savage wave, still refers to stackable.

Sora9785
Offline
Joined: 10/09/2018

After playing another game of Risen Sun (my cult vs temple), here are my thoughts:

-Akarin is way too weak; either remove weak or give him a 0 weapon. Both is too hard on a 20+ rive model

-Ikyrios Look into the Void: should be once per turn, especially with shrine desceration from yugio

-Yugios shrine desecreation; if you put out more than one shrine, does the effects stack or not (should it even be possible to put out more than one shrine??)

-We couldnt find what would happen, if a model doesnt have a weapon (puppet from Kato). We played it like always with half damage

-Some Events (especially "Feed on Fear") are way WAY too strong for their cost. Maybe give it a 3 cost. And what about the immaculate mask? Can I get a Armoured Karai for 1 rice? (and with Katos "Captured Soul" ability should an Armoured Kairai be legal?)

Troll
Offline
Joined: 24/07/2017

Just a few questions.

Do the effects of multiple disturbed flow and believer auras stack?

If you buy an upgrade that effects multiple models on the same card do subsequent summons of the same type gain the benefit of the upgrade?

How is Ume's ice Mountain fist attack meant to work? At what point in the melee exchange do you announce the use of this feat? Is there a point to removing a dice and replacing it with one of the same value?

Similar problem with master Akari's ability.

Sgnappa
Offline
Joined: 27/11/2017

Some doubts question about Movement (maybe I miss the same things in New Dawn).

 

 

Now you can measure every distance but not with tournament rules.

If I declare a charge against an enemey, I can measure so be sure to get him in B2B. What if I have a Ki Boost or a Ki feat that boost my movement in some way (+Mov or Light Footed, for example)?

 

If I measure before I move, I know exactly if I have to use ki boost or feat to reach my enemy. So I measure, i declare a Charge… and someway I change idea. Maybe it’s the last activation, I decide to not reach my enemy, so I move full distance and lose my activation counters as well.

 

What if I cannot measure before movement? I Declare the charge Action, I measure and discover that my model won’t reach the enemy, can I use a Ki Boost/Feat in this time to increase my movement enough to reach him?

 

 

Next, about an enemy that has the Fear trait.

I pre-measure, declare a charge, but I realize that failing fear test would be a disaster. So I don’t boost my movement, and since i cannot get my enemy in B2B i won’t roll any fear test. It is correct? Or, because I can get my enemy with the boost, can I do the fear test before boosting my movement? (I don’t think so since you should arrive to the fearsome enemy to do this).

 

Finally, modifiers:

A Run Action allow you to move 1,5*Mov. Say you have Move 4, so you can Run 1,5*4=6”.

If you boost your Move by 1 or have a card/effect that add 1 to your Move, do you run 7,5” - would be 1,5*(4+1) or 1,5*4+1=7”? To me seems obvious that you apply modifiers before moving, but I prefer to be sure ^^

 

 

 

 

Axiam's picture
Axiam
Offline
Joined: 13/03/2016

Regarding the fear question, you take the test after declaring the action that would bring you into btb, you don't have to actually be able to reach the model, like with disguise, because you aren't removing the beneficial effect from the opponent and you can fail melee and charge ranges but these actions would bring you into btb.

Regarding modifiers to movement, I always boost my stat before declaring the action so my movement is higher and then I run, that way there is no confusion but I think it would always apply anyway because you modify the stat; not the distance (unlike with dash - move 2" at the end of your action).

I'm not big on pre-measuring so this could very well be wrong and having different rules for friendly play versus competitive play is a bit confusing but I think the rule is: declare your model and action, plan a few turns ahead by measuring some distances and then accurately measure out the best way to complete your declared action, bearing in mind you don't have to state a target to declare an action, only when completing one. I assume in friendly pre-measuring you can check distances at any time and boost after measuring but at tournaments that wouldn't be allowed? It's somewhat confusing, for me, having both and I'm very used to not really doing it so probably won't very often bother unless it seems really important to the game plan.

Happy for Jason to correct my tournament interpretation on measuring, if it is incorrect on the planning ahead section and checking distances to targets after declaring the action, as I think that would be very good to be sure on ahead of the games expo this year to avoid any difficult conversations mid match.

Axiam

GCT Master Enos's picture
GCT Master Enos
Offline
Joined: 05/10/2012

When we release the full Tournament rule it will be covered in more detail than the quick note in the pdf.

 

Grand Master of Bushido (Smog Con '14)

maldoror42's picture
maldoror42
Offline
Joined: 17/07/2015

Hi,

 

I want to know if the pdf will be add with official icons, pictures and schemes?

 

Thanks a lot,

 

Maldoror42

Gorbad
Offline
Joined: 26/02/2017

Arata(Jung) have the Hammer Strike ki feat that gives him unblokable Strike. Shouldn't that be Unblokable X instead as Unblokable strike doesn't seem to exist in the rules?

Similarly both Tetsuso and Hideaki have Critical Strike Attack, bit in the rules it's just called critical strike.

Sgnappa
Offline
Joined: 27/11/2017

Some new toughts about Rising Sun...

 

 

 

- Overview

An introductive campaign? WOW

- Stunned

It modify the RS now, makes lot of sense!

- Default “1” Traits

Thanks a lot!

 

 

Questions/Observations:

 

- Enhancement cards

Assuming that a model can have multiple cards, I don’t really get what if “model X and Y are the same...” thing. After that sentence, there are written “The model can only have one

enhancement card as usual.” I don’t think it’s correct.

 

- Melee Dice Pool

I don’t find where is explicated what happens when your Dice Pool drops below 1, Maybe I miss it?

 

- Held

I don’t get why an Held model is no more Held if it fight with another enemy. Why the holding model would let him go, instead of helding him stronger and helps his friendly fighter to kill him? It makes more sense to me that the held model would free if the holding one participate to another melee

 

- SideStep Attack/Defence

After a successful roll you can leave enemy ZoC. Must you move your model “directly away” from the opponent (in that case it should be specified like pg. 7 ), or you can just move “away”? Because in the second case you can simply attack an enemy, and leave his ZoC on the very left moving really more. Finally, A SSA/D gives you the opportunity to change facing of your model?

 

- Split Attack

You get -1 Dice for every enemy after the first. Ok. But do you get other modifiers for melee assist?

For Example, I Played Itsunagi with split attack, so in a 2 fighters melee exchange his Dice Pool is reduced to 3, but I don’t apply assist modifier since he is Indomitable(1). But what happens if he splits on three models? He gets -2 Dices since he’s attacking 3 and this is clear, but does he gets another -1 Dice Pool to be outnumbered?

I think how assists works in a Split Attack should be specified or well exemplified since it could be not very clear.

 

 

 

 

 

 

We are wondering about which model has the attached card, especially for “Ordered fopr Battle”: it could be useful to fulfill the 30 Rice of reserves with some cards and switching them for one or another to face different enemies. But it seems is it not legal, so when you create your warband, every model has his cards and you cannot switch them in and out from reserves. But you could do this for Events and Terrain since this type is not attached to anyone, is it correct?

Always on the Ordered For Battle theme, using it at 70 Rice or 100 Rice could result in a increase or decrease of reserves points?

 

Another question for Split Attack, what happens with side step attack? Maybe itsu use split attack against two enemies, on the first strike he uses SSA and move away from the first fighter. If he continues to be engaged with the second he strikes again, but if he is no more engaged from enemies, the second don’t remove activation counters since he don’t partecipate to any Melee Exchange, right?

 

 

GCT Master Enos's picture
GCT Master Enos
Offline
Joined: 05/10/2012

- Enhancement cards

Oops, I will fix that.

 

Melee Dice Pool

Under "Tests" this is explained.

 

- Held

Fixed.

 

SideStep Attack/Defence

You do not have to move directly away, this does result in a lot of movement.

 

- Split Attack

You get modifiers for outnumbering unless you also have Indomitable as normal.

Another question for Split Attack, what happens with side step attack?

If you are no longer in B2B the melee exchange won't happen, any opponents who don't fight don't lose activation counters.

 

- Attached card,

Correct, events and terrain are not attached.

 

 

 

Grand Master of Bushido (Smog Con '14)

bontauro
Offline
Joined: 06/11/2018

Hi, all

The Descension enhancement "Ruler of the Skies" is Gains Leadership[Tengu](1/6) or (+1/6) ?

and there isn't the same thing for Tribesman?

 

GCT Master Enos's picture
GCT Master Enos
Offline
Joined: 05/10/2012

Correct, its Leadership (1/6") and there is no such upgrade for Tribesmen.

Grand Master of Bushido (Smog Con '14)

Ret-TheD
Offline
Joined: 04/02/2014

Running. If you can rotate your facing before choosing a point within LoS then you can run in all directions (360 deg). Intended?

The new addition to Spur On does not refer to the text on the animals cards stating that the model can not take scenario. As actions. So according to the rules the targeted animal will still not be able to take scenario actions. Or am I missing something?

Sgnappa
Offline
Joined: 27/11/2017

About Ki / Fear Test and Spirit.

Both test uses the Ki statistic of the model, but Fear Test are "Challenge Test" that use Ki statistic. Does it means that SPIRIT and ADEPT affect the fear test as well, or doesn't affect them since they are NOT Ki Test but Fear Test?

If so, I would split the Ki statistic into two separate attributes... but I guess it's too much change, maybe just specify that Fear Test is NOT a Ki Test in the general rules would be clear enough. As general tought, a rule there are referenced by multiple traits should be a general rule instead of being explained in the single Trait.

Ithil
Offline
Joined: 28/08/2017

Good evening. Small question for flank and perfect impersonification from the Ninjas.

Lets say I have a ninja flaked, to be returned at turn 3. Turn 3 comes, starting phase, time to declare the "during the starting phase".

Can I declare the use of perfect impersonification to switch my flanked ninja for another ennemy model BEFORE having to declare that he was supposed to come back at turn 3 and thus placing him on the map?

Because once placed, I can no longer use the perfect impersonification.

Thank you.

Pierre Roques

Ithil
Offline
Joined: 28/08/2017

And another one for camouflage ^^:

If your ninja is in BtB with an ennemy model but at the same time in cover position, from another model more than 2" away. Does your ninja still get camouflage for that other model?

Thank you.

Pierre Roques

GCT Master Enos's picture
GCT Master Enos
Offline
Joined: 05/10/2012

You do get camouflage while in btb. 

Grand Master of Bushido (Smog Con '14)

Sgnappa
Offline
Joined: 27/11/2017

Again on SideStepDefence and SideStepAttack

 

I could SS an opponent by moving around him, exiting at then rear of his ZoC near him, over his front arc. If he attacked me, I am out now of his LOS and I can declare a melee SURPRISING him: is it a legal use of SSD? It seems yes, since I have to exit his ZoC wherever I want, right?

GCT Master Enos's picture
GCT Master Enos
Offline
Joined: 05/10/2012

Yes.  Side Step is considerably improved.

Grand Master of Bushido (Smog Con '14)

Ret-Aenion
Offline
Joined: 02/06/2018

Shooting at a target that has run this turn gives a +1 penalty.
Shouldn't this apply to targets that charged as well?

skydancer
Offline
Joined: 24/10/2017

The new sidestep change is very huge and imo exit frontal arc is too much considering the amount of sidestep(0) spread around many profile. For KKZ is an impressive boost. (assassin)

I still think the new ki test are worst than previous iteration but seem it's not going to change.

Ithil
Offline
Joined: 28/08/2017

Good day all.

I posted 4 commentary for the review of the last rules directly in the pdf, as dropbox had the option. Hope it is ok.

Pierre Roques

GCT Master Enos's picture
GCT Master Enos
Offline
Joined: 05/10/2012

"I posted 4 commentary for the review of the last rules directly in the pdf, as dropbox had the option. Hope it is ok."

I have responded.  I'm not sure what the issue is with surprise?  Can you explain?

Grand Master of Bushido (Smog Con '14)

Ithil
Offline
Joined: 28/08/2017

I responded in the pdf and also commented temple and KKZ profiles.

Thank you for your hard work into making Bushido an even better game.

The rules are much clearer now and so far I must say I like what has been changed.

Pierre Roques

Ithil
Offline
Joined: 28/08/2017

Added comment to the ronin too, and I stop here as I do not play the other factions ^^.

Pierre Roques

Ret-Aenion
Offline
Joined: 02/06/2018

Continuing on Sidestep Defense as I think we still misinterpreted it here.
So if I do a Sidestep on the left flank of my opponent, I can step out of his ZoC on the right flank into his back arc?

GCT Master Enos's picture
GCT Master Enos
Offline
Joined: 05/10/2012

Yes (Assuming no other models are in the way) you simply move to exit the ZoC at any point.

 

The final rulebook has diagrams for this BTW.

Grand Master of Bushido (Smog Con '14)

Early
Offline
Joined: 04/02/2019

If you place a model which is in btb with an enemy model 1" can you leave that model's ZoC? 

Early
Offline
Joined: 04/02/2019

e.g. Kamikaze/ Queen of the Waves (Jung).

Ret-A_Palmer's picture
Ret-A_Palmer
Online
Joined: 15/05/2013

Yes.

Karlakarlen's picture
Karlakarlen
Offline
Joined: 15/12/2014

Ito Blessed theme and virtue tokens:

Is it the model that spends the token that gets to choose an effect or is it the model with the text that gets the benefit? Is the intended way to do it; you get virtue tokens from the theme and you put them on models that have text that talks about virtue tokens?

"During deployment you may assign a Virtue tokens to up to two Friendly Faction
models." There is a typo in there somewhere right?

Also Haruki has wound boxes while everyone else has wounds. 

 

 

Ret-Aenion
Offline
Joined: 02/06/2018

A model with a Virtue token gets to choose one of the benefits from provided by one model with listed benefits.
A virtue token lets you buff a model in advance and then pick and choose the benefit it receives when necessary

Pages

announcement