Push defense and then attack?

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Ret-TheD
Offline
Last seen: 1 day 10 hours ago
Joined: 04/02/2014 - 20:07
Points: 408
Push defense and then attack?

As I read the rules on melee exchanges I get confused. Is this interpretation correct?

A melee's B. A has initiative. B declares sweep defence (or.push defense). A rolls dice in both attack and defense and rolls horrible while B does the same and rolls godly. They get to step 7. A fails the attack. 7.b happens. A is put prone (or pushed away from B). Then they go to step 10. B becomes the attacker and they are back at step 7 with switched roles. B's attack succeeds and A is horrible killed in a fountain of blood and gore.

Or is there a rule somewhere that I can not find which cancels B's attack?

Ret-TheD
Offline
Last seen: 1 day 10 hours ago
Joined: 04/02/2014 - 20:07
Points: 408

Cancelled due to A being prone (or pushed away) that is.

Meavar
Meavar's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 week 5 days ago
Joined: 12/12/2013 - 13:05
Points: 117

I also always played that when pushed away the second melee exchange cannot be fought, but I think that as written you actually can. Since you skip step 9 (and 8) of the melee exchange if the defdener wins (step 9 is besides the damage roll also the part where it sais not to go to step 10 if the defender is prone not in btb or removed from the table). So strangely enough I think an errata/clarification might be in order here so if you push defense someone away you then cannot hurt him any more? Because right now if the defender pushes the attacker away he still deals damage after.

Part in the rulebook of the melee exchange, the following steps:

7) The Attacker compares its final Attack result against the Defender’s final Defence result. 

a. If the Attacker was successful apply the effects of any Special Attacks used by the Attacker and move to Step 8.

b. If the Attack failed apply any Special Defences used by the Defender and move to Step 10.

8) The players declare the use of any Instant Ki Feats.

9) The Attacker makes a Damage Roll against the Defender. If this results in either the Defender model being removed from the table, no longer being in BtB with the Attacker or becoming Prone skip to Step 11.

10) Run through Step 7 with the Defender becoming the Attacker, unless it has already been the Attacker this Melee Exchange.

11) The Melee Exchange is now resolved and both models’ Conditions worsens one degree.

Meavar

GCT Master Enos
GCT Master Enos's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 hours 10 sec ago
Joined: 05/10/2012 - 00:46
Points: 1280
Change 7b to:
 

7) The Attacker compares its final Attack result against the Defender’s final Defence result. 

a. If the Attacker was successful apply the effects of any Special Attacks used by the Attacker and move to Step 8.

b. If the Attack failed apply any Special Defences used by the Defender; If this results in either model being removed from the table, the defender no longer being in BtB with the Attacker or becoming Prone skip to Step 11 otherwise move to Step 10.
 
 

 

Grand Master of Bushido (Smog Con '14)

Ret-TheD
Offline
Last seen: 1 day 10 hours ago
Joined: 04/02/2014 - 20:07
Points: 408

Very clear. Thank you very much!

yenohoney