Couple of questions - Ki feats and Attack roll 1s

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
tomasrawlings
tomasrawlings's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 months 3 weeks ago
Joined: 06/06/2017 - 10:01
Points: 0
Couple of questions - Ki feats and Attack roll 1s

Hi all.

New player figuring rules out. So I have a couple of questions?

1. Is there a limit to the number of A or I Ki feats I can perform with one unit in an activation provided I have the Ki for it? Can I use the same I twice?

2. If during an attack I rolled 3 dice and say got 1,1 & 1 (sh1t roll I know!) would that count as 1 or 0?

Thanks!

MistakeNot
MistakeNot's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 day 11 hours ago
Joined: 21/10/2014 - 21:51
Points: 183

1: Provided you have the Ki, and they don't have a once-per-turn/activation clause, yes. 

2: That's a 0. All failures means no result at all.

 

GCT Master Enos
GCT Master Enos's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 hour 9 min ago
Joined: 05/10/2012 - 00:46
Points: 1280

Final rolls of 1 on a test are not just counted as 0 but removed, they don't count for tie breaks.

Grand Master of Bushido (Smog Con '14)

Ret-TheD
Offline
Last seen: 1 day 21 hours ago
Joined: 04/02/2014 - 20:07
Points: 408

It should also be stated that if your opponent also rolled all 1's in defense and you were the active player (so that you win the tie breaker) you still get to carry out your special attack if you chose to use one. There will not be any damage roll though.

Ret-TheD
Offline
Last seen: 1 day 21 hours ago
Joined: 04/02/2014 - 20:07
Points: 408

Edit - That last sentence was wrong. A damage roll on success level 0 occurs.

tomasrawlings
tomasrawlings's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 months 3 weeks ago
Joined: 06/06/2017 - 10:01
Points: 0

I wonder as we've had examples where a unit, when tired and out numbers, only has one dice to roll for melee. If that unit rolls a 1 on that single dice, the result is a zero yes?  Thanks.

Meavar
Meavar's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 month 1 week ago
Joined: 12/12/2013 - 13:05
Points: 117

@tomasrawlings.

Yes if you roll a 1 it is a failure thus when you roll 1 dice and it comes up with a 1 yourocket result will be 0.

Meavar

Meavar
Meavar's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 month 1 week ago
Joined: 12/12/2013 - 13:05
Points: 117

@tomasrawlings.

Yes if you roll a 1 it is a failure thus when you roll 1 dice and it comes up with a 1 your result will be 0.

Meavar

tomasrawlings
tomasrawlings's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 months 3 weeks ago
Joined: 06/06/2017 - 10:01
Points: 0

Thanks so much for that, but help!

Another question...

Some rules releate to a 'fail' - for general I assume a fail in an attack is a fail to wound? (Not just a fail to get to a wound roll...?)

GCT Master Enos
GCT Master Enos's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 hour 9 min ago
Joined: 05/10/2012 - 00:46
Points: 1280

Only tests can succeed or fail so the melee test is all that's important.

If you succeed on the melee attack and cause 0 damage you still made a successful attack.

Grand Master of Bushido (Smog Con '14)

yenohoney