Charge + Fly/Intangible

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
Wogshrog
Offline
Last seen: 8 hours 8 sec ago
Joined: 10/17/2016 - 19:45
Points: 0
Charge + Fly/Intangible

Can a model with Fly/Intangible Charge through it's target to end his movement in base to base but in the back of the charged model ? I know you're not goint to surprise your target but you're turning him around for future Melee, and also you can Charge a model if the front is already occupied with a model.

I've found an old topic on this with Wraith, saying that you can but there wasn't any official answer so I'm still wondering.

Damon Carlton
Damon Carlton's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 months 2 weeks ago
Joined: 10/31/2016 - 23:24
Points: 60

Ok. I like to see if my interpretation of the rules is correct.

I would say no. Because its in a straight line meaning you'd end with your back of your base against the rear of theirs and changing face is considered moving in this game.

But I'm happy to be proved wrong

Rule'z of the Nerdherd
A proud owner of a gold Bushido coin and a wooden spoon.

Ret-Fleafa
Ret-Fleafa's picture
Offline
Last seen: 6 hours 15 min ago
Joined: 05/24/2013 - 18:34
Points: 315

Step 1 of a Melee Exchange is, 'Rotate both models so their Facings are touching.' so that's not a problem.

All Melee and Charge require in order to be successful is that the model end its movement in BtB with the intended enemy model. Fly and Intangible allow the model to ignore ZoCs and volumes uring the movement, so this is a legitimate tactic.

Damon Carlton
Damon Carlton's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 months 2 weeks ago
Joined: 10/31/2016 - 23:24
Points: 60

Nice

Rule'z of the Nerdherd
A proud owner of a gold Bushido coin and a wooden spoon.

GCT Master Enos
GCT Master Enos's picture
Offline
Last seen: 10 hours 53 min ago
Joined: 10/05/2012 - 00:46
Points: 1280

With a charge, movement must be directly toward (Centre to centre) so you cannot move through the target as after half way you'd be moving away.

Movement stops in front and the charge move is complete.

Grand Master of Bushido (Smog Con '14)

Wogshrog
Offline
Last seen: 8 hours 8 sec ago
Joined: 10/17/2016 - 19:45
Points: 0

Thanks for the answer, I'll have to do without charge then 

Ret-Fleafa
Ret-Fleafa's picture
Offline
Last seen: 6 hours 15 min ago
Joined: 05/24/2013 - 18:34
Points: 315

Ah, fair point!

fabiusbile
Offline
Last seen: 1 month 1 week ago
Joined: 10/04/2016 - 18:28
Points: 0

So if I understand well the rule, it's not possible for an intangible/fly model to do a charge action like this.

 

It's not possible because the movement must be directely forward (center to center).

Am I right?

Ret-Fleafa
Ret-Fleafa's picture
Offline
Last seen: 6 hours 15 min ago
Joined: 05/24/2013 - 18:34
Points: 315

It is not possible for any model to do that with a Charge, as it is a straight line drawn from the centre of each model.

yenohoney