Touch the Void

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Wogshrog
Offline
Last seen: 54 min 35 sec ago
Joined: 10/17/2016 - 19:45
Points: 0
Touch the Void

"Touch the Void" I Sp - X

When this model is successfully attacked in a Melee exchange, before the Damage Roll spend X Ki tokens; ths may not be greater than 3. For each Ki token spent prevent one wound, for each wound prevented the model making the attack suffers one wound. Wounds caused by this Ki feat ignore Armour and Thoughness. This Ki Feat can only be used once per turn.

 

My friends and I have been wondering how does this ki feat works with a Durable opponent. does it deals damage one by one or if it prevents 3 it does 3 ?

Also if Ikiryo get attacked with a succesfull combo attack SR 4, choose to use Touch the Void for 3, get only to prevent 2 damages on the first damage roll, is she able to prevent 1 on the SR 2 damage roll ?

So far we've been playing with prevent 3 deals 3 and works against combo attack but I just wanted to be sure.

Ret-A_Palmer
Ret-A_Palmer's picture
Offline
Last seen: 32 min 37 sec ago
Joined: 05/15/2013 - 01:25
Points: 930

Durable works against Touch, it's a single instance of wounding, rather than multiple small ones.

No.  She can only use the Ki feat once a turn.  The Ikiryo player will have to choose which damage roll to use the Ki feat on (I would assume the largest one 99.5% of the time).

 


It always goes to tiebreakers.

The Jumo Ring - a Bushido Blog

Axiam
Axiam's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 day 18 hours ago
Joined: 03/13/2016 - 22:37
Points: 280

Hi Mr Palmer, I would argue that combo attack is a single attack with multiple stacking damage rolls. Therefore, for me it reads as though you should finish rolling on each success level and then prevent and cause X (as each roll to wound is not a separate attack and you are forced to declare the ki feat in the phase prior to the first roll to wound, as dictated by the melee rule steps). Additionally, it doesnt state only on the first roll to wound in that attack, so I would expect it to prevent & cause 3 damage if 3ki spent and at least 3 wounds caused in total. But that's just from how I have read the rule and this may be different to the designers intention. But in the same way you would only deal 1 dmg to a durable model regardless of the number prevented.

Axiam

Ret-A_Palmer
Ret-A_Palmer's picture
Offline
Last seen: 32 min 37 sec ago
Joined: 05/15/2013 - 01:25
Points: 930
That particular block of text is very hard to parse, can you add some spacing next time please? - no offense meant, it's just hard to read.
 
It does appear I was incorrect.  The Ki feat just references the number of wounds you take, not the specific damage roll.  Ergo, yes it works (sort of) against Combo Attack.
 
Example:
Itsunagi has a SL 5 combo attack on Ikiryo.
Ikiryo immediately spends 3 Ki on Touch the Void before the first damage roll.
Itsunagi does 6 damage on the first damage roll (SL5) / 2 on the second (SL3) / and 1 on the last (SL 1) / combo attack damge rolls end.
His total damage at this point is 9.
Touch of the Void reduces this to 6, Itsunagi takes 3 damage.
Ikiryo now died horribly (as she should).
 

It always goes to tiebreakers.

The Jumo Ring - a Bushido Blog

Wogshrog
Offline
Last seen: 54 min 35 sec ago
Joined: 10/17/2016 - 19:45
Points: 0

Thanks for the answer, I'm going to keep killing her with the Convocation of Eagles !